Speedway Australia welcomes Mark Richards to its governance team, with his appointment ratified earlier this week following the resignation of Gary Winterbottom.

An experienced administrator and former Sprintcar competitor, Mark is currently the Secretary of the Sprintcar Control Council of Australia and President of the Sprintcar Association of NSW. He’ll bring a vital perspective to the Board based on many years of industry knowledge from both sides of the safety fence.

The full Speedway Australia Board now comprises of the following stakeholder personalities, with an independent to provide the necessary balance:-

Guy ThompsonChairman, Latrobe & Hobart Speedway’s + Australasian Speedway Promoters Assn

Damien McKernVice Chairman, Independent Director

Gavin MigroPerth Motorplex

John KellyArcherfield Speedway, Brisbane

Greg LyndCEO of Speedway Sedans Australia

Darren CassidyPresident of Racing Sedans Australia

Mark CooperSpeedcars Australia Delegate

Mark RichardsSprintcar Control Council of Australia Delegate

David MillsPremier Speedway, Warrnambool

We thank Gary for his service and contribution to the organisation over the last three years, and wish him well for his future endeavours both inside and outside of speedway.

Posted: 17/09/2020